Body Piercing Saved My Life

Yes, you read it right. Body piercing saved my life. Before you draw early conclusions, let me just say that this is not your “rebel without a cause” kind of thing. When I read this in a statement shirt worn by a prominent speaker, it really got me thinking. I realized that this statement has been really true in my life.

Body piercing is hip and trendy. It’s a fashion statement. Nose rings and belly rings make ordinary earrings look outdated. I remember back in college when I bought an earring that has a magnet on the other side for its lock. When I placed it on the upper part of my outer ear where you usually place a stud earring, it made me look that I really had my ear pierced again! When I got home, my mom didn’t buy it. Seriously. She even asked, “Magnet yan?” (“Is that a magnet?”) Oh well, I just bought it for the sake of soliciting shock from my parents but obviously I failed. I guess they know me too well that I won’t do that. They’re right, I really won’t but it’s not because I’m a good girl. It’s just not my style.

Back track 2,000 years ago, body piercing became infamous because of the crucifixion—the art of execution perfected by the Romans. It’s not hip to be crucified. It’s excruciating. That adjective was even derived from the word crucifixion because there’s no word to equate the pain and the suffering brought about by it. Moreover, it’s not just physical pain that’s involved here. There’s also emotional pain because of the humiliation it brings. You hang there almost naked soaked in your sweat and blood for everyone to see. It was so degrading that the Roman government does not even implement this on their own citizens.

What happened to Jesus Christ was body piercing at its most cruel form—not some cute studs placed here and there—they were long iron nails pierced right through His hands and feet. Not only that, His side was also pierced by a spear to check if He was really dead and in doing so, blood and water flowed out of His body, validating it.  That was the body piercing that saved my life. I should’ve been on that cross because I deserve it. But Someone took my place because He knows I can’t save myself. I’m too filthy and sinful to even attempt to reach Him. That’s my Jesus—my nail-pierced Savior who died and rose again to reconcile me to Him. He did that not only for me but also for YOU. Jesus did it for EVERYONE.

Fast forward 2011, the cross is a symbol of love and sacrifice. No one is scared at the sight of the cross anymore nor is everyone moved by it. I admit I am not emotionally moved when I see a cross. But just like you, I need to be reminded that there’s a face behind that old rugged cross and it’s the face of the almighty perfect blameless Savior who gave His life for us. There’s a heart behind that cruel cross and that is the heart of the God who loves you and me without boundaries. There are arms behind that shameful cross that welcome everyone who believes and trusts in Him and the work that He’s done.

The cross is a lifelong invitation to reconciliation and joy with our Savior in Heaven. It’s open for all but not forced on all. It’s a choice we individually make. It’s a choice I made when I was 13 years old—to trust my Savior and believe that He died for me to be reconciled with Him and have eternal life. I have no other recourse. I can’t keep running away from Him. I can’t save myself. No amount of being “goody two shoes” can earn me my salvation. I’m damned as everybody else. This verse sums up everything I believe in.

Romans 3:23-26 New Living Translation (NLT)

 23 For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.24 Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. 25 For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed his life, shedding his blood. This sacrifice shows that God was being fair when he held back and did not punish those who sinned in times past, 26 for he was looking ahead and including them in what he would do in this present time. God did this to demonstrate his righteousness, for he himself is fair and just, and he declares sinners to be right in his sight when they believe in Jesus.

Will you believe? Will you allow body piercing to save your life, too? At the end of the day, we all make choices. The choice to trust and believe is personal. That’s why being a Christian is being in a relationship with Jesus Christ. It’s not being in a religion. It’s BELIEVING A PERSON and everything that He claims to be. When you’re in a relationship with someone, you trust Him and you believe in Him.

To this day, I have no regrets with the choice I made. I know that when I see Jesus face to face one day, I will fall flat on my face, cry uncontrollably, forever thanking Him for the grace and mercy He has extended to me. Then I will look at His nail-pierced hands and kiss them in complete adoration. ❤