It’s the SUPERHERO year (part 1)

Half of the year is almost over and the three movies I’ve watched so far were all superhero movies. In fact, last year my husband and I were already planning our date nights based on the release dates of Thor, Green Lantern, X-Men First Class, Captain America, and Transformers 3. And yes, we went as far as 2012 for the much-awaited Avengers movie. I think the last movie review I made was for 300, which was like eons ago. I know it’s pathetic, tell me about it. So this time, I want to be more up to date thus I’ll be doing three reviews in one go. 🙂

Okay, let me make this clear first, I AM A CAPTIVE AUDIENCE BY DESIGN. I get easily entertained. God just made me the easiest person to please, so to speak. On that note, it means a lot to me when I say that I wasn’t entertained by a certain movie. By now, you would’ve guessed which movie I’m talking about. Yes, it’s the overly hyped GREEN LANTERN movie. Man, talk about bland. Fine, I admit I was still entertained by Ryan Reynold’s funny lines and all but he’s the only one entertaining there! I think I can come up with a revised Green Lantern Oath based on the movie’s performance:

In worldwide release day, in box office night

No critic shall escape its sight

Let those who watch continuously writhe

Beware the failure of Green Lantern’s light

Can I cry now? 😦 After seeing Thor (which I will discuss in the next blog), my expectations for Green Lantern reached an all-time high. I mean, if Thor can be that good—for a character that’s not as popular—how much better can Green Lantern be, right? It should be excellent. Yes, DC, it should’ve been excellent but it was a far cry from that. For someone who has very little background of who Hal Jordan is, all I really wanted was to be entertained. While watching the movie, I find myself enjoying the popcorn more than the movie itself. It was a slow kill—slowly disappointing me as the movie dragged on. It spent 70% of the time dwelling on Hal’s human story than his superhero transformation and character progression. If I was disappointed, my husband was overwrought. He is a certified Green Lantern fan and a Geoff Johns (writer) follower. So he knows the storyline and all. He is like my personal graphic novel guru. He gave me a Green Lantern 101 crash course before the movie, which made me all the more excited. I guess I shouldn’t have asked hubby for that crash course, it made me expect a wild ride not a sickening boat ride. Oh well, on the bright side, I am more motivated now to read Green Lantern’s graphic novels and be really entertained! 🙂

So, what do I typically expect from a superhero movie? Lots of action (Green Lantern just made it to bare minimum), really cool special effects and CGI (average; Oa looks very dark; if the scene was taking place in the universe it should at least look grand but it was futuristically bland), noteworthy lines befitting superheroes reminiscent of Dark Knight (except for the oath, I didn’t catch anything memorable), a very effective antagonist (Parallax was merely a scary smoke; now I miss Casper, at least he’s cute), and a strong supporting cast (aside from Sinestro there’s no one else to complement Hal; the aliens were just too many and I wish they did more than just stand in a group and chant). Too bad, I really liked Ryan Reynolds for the role but he lacked the “attitude”. On the other hand, Blake Lively turned from a tough fighter pilot chick to a damsel in distress because she merely became a helpless love interest from the middle of the film up to the end. Although, I liked the part when she discovered that Green Lantern was Hal Jordan. Haha! Very natural acting on that one, Ms. Carol Ferris! It pains me to give a rating for this film. I guess I’ll give it 5 out of 10—for the effort, for the effective marketing hype, for Ryan Reynolds, and for the Krispy Kreme special doughnut that bore out of it.

7 thoughts on “It’s the SUPERHERO year (part 1)

  1. For a non-movie (house) fan (the last one I watched at the cinemas was Harry Potter :p), Green Lantern was supposed to be my next… until I heard that it has an overwhelming bad reviews. And you just proved it more to me, mamai! 🙂 Thanks for the review, appreciate it ^_^

    – Anna

  2. I heard a number of people saying the same thing Ivy. As much as it pains me to say this, I think this movie was set to fail along time ago. There is too much hype, and I think fans have been waiting too long to see The Green Lantern on the big screen.

    I must admit, He isn’t a favorite of mine, so I won’t be seeing the movie. Loved your review though!

Leave a Reply

